What are the seven wonders of Wales?

Wales is part of the United Kingdom and is located on the island of Great Britain. It houses several famous landmarks, the most famous of which are the Seven Wonders of Wales. A rhyming song will help Wales residents remember the names of these places. It is believed to have been written by an English tourist who visited the country sometime between the late 18th and early 19th centuries. Each of the following wonders is located in North Wales.

7. Snowdon –

Snowdon is the highest mountain in Wales, standing at 3,560 meters above sea level. The mountain and its surroundings are protected as the Snowdonia National Park and the National Nature Reserve in order to preserve its indigenous flora and fauna. The mountain is mostly covered with snow most of the year. However, climate change has affected snowfall in the area. For example, in 2004 the mountain saw 55% less snow than in 1994.

Visitors can climb to the top in several ways, although the most popular trail is Llanberis. For those who prefer not to climb, the Snowdon Mountain Railway is available. This train takes 130,000 visitors to the top annually.

6. Gresford Bells –

Gresford Bells are located in All Saints Church in Gresford. Although the church building itself is a beautiful 13th-century architectural work, only its bells are listed as one of the seven wonders. This is because the bells are known for their strong ringing and perfect tone. Throughout history, bells have rung indicating curfew, the tragedy of coal mining, and the invasion of World War II. Today, visitors can hear them during worship services on Sundays and Tuesdays.

5. Llangollen Bridge –

Llangollen Bridge is situated in Llangollen. It is the first stone bridge to cross the Dee River, built in the 16th century. The new bridge replaced the older bridge built in the mid-14th century. This bridge is characterized by supporting arches under the bridge. An additional arch was added in the 1860s to widen the bridge over the new railroad. It is protected as a planned monument.

4. Fontana St. Winefrides –

St. Winefrides Well is situated in Holywell. The history of the well begins in 660 AD when Caradoc, a member of the local royal family, tried to confirm himself with Winefride, the daughter of the local chief. She rejected his progress. Annoyed, Caradoc beheads Winefride. When her head hit the ground, the spring water began to flow. It is said that her uncle Beuno, now Saint Beuno, brought her head back and brought her back to life. Winefride, now Saint Winefride, later became a nun. A well was built on the site of the spring, the water of which works wonders. Devotees have been visiting it since the 7th century, making it the oldest continuously visited pilgrimage site in Britain.

3. Overton yew –

Overton Yew Trees is located in the Church of St. Mary the Virgin in Overton-on-Dee. Some trees are between 1500 and 2000 years old, they are older than the church that was built in the Norman era. In 1992, Queen Elizabeth II planted a yew tree here during a local celebration.

2. Church of St. Gilesa –

St Giles Church is located in the city of Wrexham and is the largest medieval parish church in Wales. Its tower is considered one of the seven wonders of the world, not the whole church. It is the tallest building in the city and can be seen anywhere.

1. Pistyll Rhaeadr –

Pistyll Rhaeadr Falls is the first wonder mentioned in the famous poem. It rolls over a cliff over 240 meters and falls into 3 different levels. Afon Rhaeadr is a river that flows from waterfalls. Visitors can spend the night in a nearby bed and breakfast or have lunch in a café. For those who want a little exercise, the hiking trail leads to the top of the waterfall.

What are the seven wonders of Wales?

rank miracle Place
1 Pistyll Rhaeadr Near Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnanta, Powys
2 Church of St. Giles Wrexham
3 Overton yew trees Overton-on-Dee, Wrexham, County
Fourth Fontana All Winefrides Holywell, Flintshire
5 Llangollen Bridge Llangollen, Denbighshire
6. Gresford bells Gresford, Wrexham County
7. Snowdon Snowdonia, Gwynedd

Source link