Hemispheres of the planet Earth

Northern Hemisphere

The northern hemisphere refers to the part of the country that is north of the equator. The Northern Hemisphere covers 67.3% of the land surface of our planet. 60.7% of the surface of the northern hemisphere is occupied by water. Summer in the hemisphere is experienced between June and September, while winter lasts from December to March. The Northern Hemisphere includes all of continental Europe, North America, the Caribbean region, and Central America. Most of Asia, except the part of the maritime southeast of Asia that crosses the equator, is also part of the northern hemisphere. Nearly two-thirds of Africa and one-tenth of South America are also part of this hemisphere. About 90% of the world’s population lives here.

Southern Hemisphere

The southern hemisphere is the part of the country that lies south of the equator. The southern hemisphere covers 32.7% of the land surface of our planet. 80.9% of the southern hemisphere is covered with water. The entire land mass of Australia and Antarctica is located in the southern hemisphere. Most of South America (almost 90%), the southern third of Africa, and several islands off the coast of mainland Asia and ocean states are part of this hemisphere. The South Atlantic, the South Pacific, the Indian Ocean, and the Southern Ocean are part of the Southern Hemisphere. The Southern Hemisphere region experiences summer between December and March, while winter is from June to September.

eastern hemisphere

The Eastern Hemisphere, also known as the “Eastern Hemisphere” or “Old World,” refers to the part of our planet that is east of the prime meridian and west of the antimidian. The Eastern Hemisphere includes parts of Eurasia, Africa, and Oceania, including Australia. The hemisphere is located in the Indian Ocean, 910 km west of Indonesia. The area covered by this hemisphere is larger than the western hemisphere. Over 82% of the world’s population can be found here.

Western Hemisphere

The part of the earth west of the prime meridian is classified as the western hemisphere. The Western Hemisphere includes North and South America. It covers parts of Eurasia and Africa west of the prime meridian. It also includes Russia’s top east of the counter-meridian. Parts of Antarctica and Oceania also belong to the Western Hemisphere. Aconcagua in the Argentine Andes is the highest mountain in the western hemisphere. The Western Hemisphere is inhabited by only about 22.837% of the world’s population.

Earth’s hemisphere

The terrestrial hemisphere is the part of the earth that encompasses most of the land on the planet. Although the terrestrial hemisphere got its name, the water area in the hemisphere is larger than the surface area of ​​the terrestrial area present here. The Earth’s hemisphere is centered at 47 ° 13’N 1 ° 32’W, near the French city of Nantes. The terrestrial hemisphere encompasses much of Asia and South America, as well as all of Africa, Europe, and North America. Seven-eighths of the earth’s land surface is part of this hemisphere.

Water hemisphere

The part of the earth that has the highest water surface is called the water hemisphere. The center of the Earth’s hemisphere is at 47 ° 13’N 178 ° 28’E. The center is near New Zealand. The earth’s hemisphere of water is only one-eighth of the planet, all the rest is water. The mainland mainly includes oceanic countries and a small part of Southeast Asia. The Earth’s hemisphere of water encompasses most of the Pacific and Indian Oceans.

Source link